MYOB users angry at suspected forced upgrade

MYOB users angry at suspected forced upgrade

MYOB users have lashed out at the software giant, as conflicting messages emerge about forced upgrades and support limitations in one of its popular services.

Users in MYOB’s online community forum, as well as readers of My Business sister publication Accountants Daily, have reported receiving emails about an upgrade in the accounting and business management software program AccountRight, which appears necessary to keep accessing historic files.

Several users said that the email reads:

You need the latest version of AccountRight to keep working.

You will be unable to confirm your company file in this version of AccountRight after Monday, 30 October 2017.

But don’t worry, you’re entitled to the latest version at no additional cost, and you must upgrade before this date.

However, MYOB appears to have backflipped in its communications about the upgrade, with the latest advice from Nick Burkett, general manager for operations and services, saying the software provider “will absolutely support clients who cannot move to the latest version.” He also said MYOB’s communication “could have been clearer.”

Mr Burkett’s statement came after some users started floating the idea of a class action.

An MYOB spokesperson also confirmed there will be no forced upgrades, and users will still be able to access their files on older versions of the software.

About a month ago, a MYOB representative said the company was reaching out to clients currently using AccountRight Classic - v19 - to “help them upgrade” to the latest version of the product.

Another representative soon after said for those who received the email, they will not be able to use the online confirmation option to confirm their AccountRight Classic files, after 30 October 2017.

Some users also said that in response to this issue, MYOB support staff were verbally telling them to upgrade their software. A spokesperson said that MYOB would prefer if clients upgraded for security reasons and to access improved services.

MYOB users angry at suspected forced upgrade
mybusiness logo

Related Articles

promoted stories